I created a set of tools for mining database visualisation and spatial analysis

Hello everyone,

I work in the mining industry. Im based in France, near Grenoble, but work mostly with environmental and geochemical data of mining projects from South America. At the start of each project, we have to intersect 3 important datasets: the 3D Block Model of the mine (a 3D mesh of cubes with the geo-statistical data of the mine like Lithology, Alteration, Mineral Zone, Ore, metals, other…), the borehole database with all the measured info that builds the bock model, and finally the mining phases of the pit (natural, current and future topography), to get the kind of materials that will be left in the waste deposits or exposed in the pit. This was mostly done by engineers from the mining area of the consulting firm I work for. Problem is we were never the priority so, many times, we were delayed or blocked because we couldnt process our data on time or reprocess it when we got updated data. I got tired of waiting and started searching alternative open source software that could work to processes this kind of data and I found none. Most projects are outdated and abandoned. All paid software is VERY overpriced, like, 50K USD a license (Maptek Vulkan, GEMs, Leapfrog). So, since i know some python, I programmed a series of tools myself, in python using the VTK library. Then, since some less tech savvy colleagues wanted to use my tools, i made a (very ugly) GUI using tkinter.

Now, im not saying my rudimentary set of tools with an ugly GUI is comparable to industry standards like Vulkan or GEMs, but they are a lot cheaper (50K USD cheaper) and all the geostatitical analyses could be integrated later if they are used for this purpose. For some time now I’ve been wondering if I could/should:
a) open the tools for free (as in speech, as freedom, but I’m not sure how)
b) try to port the tools as actual paraview or VTK tools (I just know python and R)