Loading 3D volume performance

I’m very new to VTK and 3D programming overall and have been tasked to create a 3D volume viewer which receives volumes consecutively and displays them as they’re received.

I have used https://examples.vtk.org/site/Cxx/Medical/MedicalDemo4/ example to create a basic app and modified it so that it can load volumes consecutively from a set of .mha files as a test.

I create the pipeline only once at the start of the app and then have a function which only loads the volume:

void VTKWindow::loadFileFast(const QString& filePath)
{
    m_loadedFile = filePath;
    m_loadedFile.replace("file:///", "");
    qDebug() << "----loadFileFast " << m_loadedFile;

m_reader->SetFileName(m_loadedFile.toStdString().c_str());

m_window->Render();
}

Eventually this app will be fed volume data at around 2-4 volumes per second and I need to display this volume at a similar frame rate but in my tests the loading and rendering of a volume takes around 800msec before it’s displayed on the screen so I’m getting a rate only at around 1.2 volumes/second.

The volume .mha files are very small (250kb each) and currently only hold a single 2d ultrasound frame in 3d space.

I would like to know if it’s possible to improve the framerate of displaying volumes in this way?
Is the slow down due to using the .mha format?
Could the volume data somehow be fed into VTK directly (not using .mha file) and would that improve the performance?
Or would it be better to load the volume only once and then somehow update its data to improve the performance?

Any help to point me in the right direction would be much appreciated.

In general file IO is orders of magnitude slower than in-memory operations, so if you are receiving the volume data in the same program that is displaying it, removing the file IO will help a lot.