OSMesa implementation changing

Hi! I’m a Mesa developer looking to clean up some of the cruft in our tree, and hopefully going to delete our OSMesa implementation based on the old software rasterizer. I’ve got an MR up for that (https://gitlab.freedesktop.org/mesa/mesa/-/merge_requests/1243) and an MR landing for fixing known bugs in the gallium implementation (https://gitlab.freedesktop.org/mesa/mesa/-/merge_requests/7886)

In the past, VTK has been the primary consumer of OSMesa that we know of (at least in terms of volume of bugs filed). While we would love to see users transition to EGL_MESA_device_software to get a software rasterizer (which gives you a specification with defined behavior, plus a faster swrast implementation!), we don’t want to regress your stuff. If you’re still using OSMesa, would someone be able to run your tests against the current gallium osmesa implementation as of !7886 and see if it’s sufficient for VTK?

Thanks for the heads up! We’re in the middle of ParaView 5.9’s release cycle (the main driver for VTK’s OSMesa implementation AFAIK), so it’s too late to do too much change based on it, but we can probably take a look at it after the final release is out.

The best way to test what we’ve got is probably to modify the osmesa build we do for the ParaView package. The recipe is here which chains off to this file and then trigger the osmesa CI job to see the current state of it. If you could provide instructions we could use to change the build of OSMesa to use this (other than changing the source tarball), we could at least get a first pass at how it goes.

If we need code/context creation changes to test it, that’s in portions of the code I’m not as familiar with.

Heads up: @Chuck_Atkins @utkarshayachit @cory.quammen @ken-martin