Out of memory for huge volume

Hello,

I am a student. I am currently working on a project, where I have to generate a large cube composed of small cubes. For this, I generated csv files for vertices, edges, faces and also tetrahedra. Then in VTK I create a vtkUnstructuredGrid where I put all my vertices/edges/faces/tetrahedra (in fact each cube is actually a set of tetrahedra).

However, if this loading works well for a 10x10x10 cube, it does not work for a 100x100x100 cube. Indeed, my program is killed because of an out of memory at 90% of the edges loading. Knowing that for 100x100x100 I have to create about 6 millions edges.

Not being a great expert of vtk, I wanted to know if it was really possible to load such volume with vtk ? My final goal is to be able to visualize this with Paraview. Currently I save my vtkUnstructuredGrid in vtu file.

If it is normally possible to build such a volume, would you have some tracks to explore that could help me to solve my problem?

Thanks for your attention,
I hope to have been clear enough.

If you work with a structure grid of cubes (or rectangular prisms) then you can store them in a vtkImageData object and you can process and visualize it very efficiently. A 100x100x100 volume is considered very small and even a very old computer with a few GB of RAM can easily handle it.

Thank you very much for your answer. Indeed, I suspected that others have much greater needs than we do. I’m going to look at the documentation to see what I can do with these vtkImageData.

I’ve looked all over the “documentation” about vtkImageData, but it doesn’t seem to allow me to add edges, faces and tetrahedra. I’m really stuck.

I tried to go through paraview but I couldn’t find a simple solution to import a structure like mine.

As a reminder my volume is composed of edges, faces and tetrahedrons. Originally I had 4 files of this format:

vertices.csv :
ID, X, Y, Z, Weight

edges.csv :
Point1, Point2, Weight

faces.csv :