[RemoteView] vtk_server.py not works because vtk.web module not find

Hi,

I am a front-end developer. And not know much about vtk C++.

I get started by follow the doc of Getting Started Using Linux, after build vtk, vtkpython command is works for me.

Then I want to test remoteView on my computer, when i copy vtk_server.py file into dev/mytest/vtk_server.py to run locally.
I run vtkpython vtk_server.py --port 1234 command in MacOS terminal, but there is a error show that vtk.web module not find.

from vtk.web import protocols
ModuleNotFoundError: No module named 'vtk.web'

I don’t know what is the problem of this error, and i even install python vtk through command

pip install vtk

but still the problem not solve.

so maybe someone can give me a more detail document to tell people who is a front-end developer and don’t really know vtk C++ and only want to test remoteview how to start a Vtk Server.

I’m guessing your pip version is grabbing vtk 8 and not vtk 9.1. Only since 9 we bundle the web module of vtk.

You may want to upgrade pip within your venv before doing pip install -U vtk.

To summarize, you should have a setup like so:

python3.9 -m venv .venv
source .venv/bin/activate
pip install -U pip
pip install vtk
python vtk_server.py --port 1234

BTW where did you get vtkpython as this is not coming from pip install vtk?

vtkpython is coming from VTK C++ git repo VTK document of how to start on linux Getting Started Using Linux

By set vtkpython alias through compiled bin file.

I follow the command you type in last reply, and i start server by python vtk_server.py --port 1234, but still can’t start RemoteView example.

Problem show that RemoteView.js:1 TypeError: Cannot read properties of undefined (reading 'clientToConnect')

So there still server.py problem that i can’t start the vtkWSLinkClient.newInstance().