STL written by vtkSTLWriter is not properly visible in Unity3D!

Hello,

I am new to VTK and interested to make a CAD software. Recently I have been working with decimation. I have tried to write the reduced STL using vtkSTLWriter. But the exported STL is not correctly visible due to disturbed vertices.

Weird thing is if I import the same STL in blender, the export seems fine. And If I export an STL of the same vtkSTLWritten imported STL from blender, then the blender exported STL is visible fine in Unity3D.

Please help what I am missing here?

Welcome to VTK, @rai-sam. Could you add a screenshot that show what is going wrong?

@cory.quammen Let me know if anything else needed at my end. Please help. :slight_smile:

It looks like faces are not oriented correctly. You can use vtkPolyDataNormals to fix it (make sure “Consistency” is enabled).

@lassoan If I SetFlipNormals(true) using vtkPolyDataNormals then problem seemed solved. Is this fine practice? What could be the issue?

Some filters may not preserve consistency of cell orientations, so I would consider it to be normal that you need to reorient (unless you analysed all input data sets and processing filters and based on that you would not expect it to be necessary).

@lassoan So what I am going to assume in this case is vtkSTLReader is somehow reading STL with flipped faces? So that before exporting, I need to perform setFlipNormals(true) everytime. Right?

If triangle points may be ordered incorrectly in your input STL files then you can use vtkPolyDataNormals filter to fix them.

@lassoan I wrote a code to Flip normals in Unity3D after importing STL mesh.
I have verified by test case of original input STL and vtk written STL files that vtk is causing this issue to output STL files. I discarded the use of vtkPolyDataNormals at vtkSTLWriter time.

Test Files:
original.stl (input)
original_test.stl (export of original.stl by vtk)
original_test2.stl (export of original_test.stl by vtk)