Would compressed VTK arrays be a good idea?

Hi all,

I am currently studying the feasibility of including implicit arrays (i.e. arrays that do not have allocated data in memory but that are instead implicit mappings/functions behind the scenes) into VTK. These new types of arrays would leverage the existing vtkGenericDataArray API. The implicit arrays could, in part, be used to implement compression of arrays in memory (also in VTK).

The idea is to transform a classic vtkDataArray into a vtkImplicitArray where the data would be suitably compressed and the implicit map would effectively do some decompression on read and compression on write. The trade-off is less memory usage for more compute time on access and write operations.

With the help of some colleagues, we came up with the following specifications (in order of importance):

1. Lower memory usage
  2. Bijective compression/decompression (lossless)
  3. Random access (O(1))
  4. User configurable (i.e. choice of compressor, level of compression, etc.)
  5. Modifiable in compressed state

During some discussions, it became apparent that there are some real pros and cons to this approach (potential memory gains, adding indirection to save memory will impact performance, cost of maintenance of this type of development, what kind of compression to implement, etc.). As such, we wanted to field this question to the VTK community to get more opinions.

Is it worth including this into VTK? Would anyone be interested in using/maintaining this type of structure in the future? Anybody know of previous efforts/discussions in this direction? Does anyone have some strong opinions?

Thanks in advance!