Colored Volume from Tiffstack/MultiImageTiff

Hello vtk community,

first of all: Thank you for the great VTK Framework, which is an amazing Tool!

As a beginner i am just starting a first project using vtk and python to show a 3D representation/rendering from a Tiffstack (RGB). My goal is to show the rendering in original Tiff Color and a transparent Background (as shown here with 3dslicer: https://discourse.slicer.org/t/retain-image-color-in-volume-rendering/12294). So far i get it, at least, halfway working.

Here you see my code (using some example code from the web with few modifications):

####################################
import vtk

filename = “Tiffilewith250imagesRGB.tif”

colors = vtk.vtkNamedColors()

ren1 = vtk.vtkRenderer()

renWin = vtk.vtkRenderWindow()
renWin.AddRenderer(ren1)

iren = vtk.vtkRenderWindowInteractor()
iren.SetRenderWindow(renWin)

reader = vtk.vtkTIFFReader()
reader.SetFileName(filename)

opacityTransferFunction = vtk.vtkPiecewiseFunction()
opacityTransferFunction.AddPoint(20, 0)
opacityTransferFunction.AddPoint(255, 1)

colorTransferFunction = vtk.vtkColorTransferFunction()
colorTransferFunction.AddRGBPoint(0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0)
colorTransferFunction.AddRGBPoint(64.0, 1.0, 0.0, 0.0)
colorTransferFunction.AddRGBPoint(128.0, 0.0, 0.0, 1.0)
colorTransferFunction.AddRGBPoint(192.0, 0.0, 1.0, 0.0)
colorTransferFunction.AddRGBPoint(255.0, 0.0, 0.2, 0.0)

volumeProperty = vtk.vtkVolumeProperty()
volumeProperty.SetColor(colorTransferFunction)
volumeProperty.SetScalarOpacity(opacityTransferFunction)
volumeProperty.ShadeOn()
volumeProperty.SetInterpolationTypeToLinear()

volumeMapper = vtk.vtkFixedPointVolumeRayCastMapper()
volumeMapper.SetInputConnection(reader.GetOutputPort())

volume = vtk.vtkVolume()
volume.SetMapper(volumeMapper)
volume.SetProperty(volumeProperty)

ren1.AddVolume(volume)
ren1.SetBackground(colors.GetColor3d(“Wheat”))
ren1.GetActiveCamera().Azimuth(45)
ren1.GetActiveCamera().Elevation(30)
ren1.ResetCameraClippingRange()