contour interpolation/resampling

I’m completely new to vtk so bear with me if what I ask turns out to be incredibly easy for the expert user. Believe me, I’ve searched everywhere but I can’t find a way to do what I need. So here’s my problem:

I have a mesh, and I need to extract contours cutting it with planes at regular intervals. I’m using vtkCutter + vtkStripper + vtkCleanPolyData to obtain a list of points. So far so good, however I need these contours to be resampled/interpolated so that each contour is returned as a fixed number of points, equally spaced. Is there a way to do this in vtk: options to set on vtkCutter, other filters that I can add?

I also have another question: on some meshes the contours run clockwise, on others counter-clockwise, why? Of course I’m using the same planes, always oriented in the direction of the positive X axis.

Thanks

my code:

vtkSmartPointer intersection(vtkPlane& plane, vtkSmartPointer polydata) {
auto cutter = vtkSmartPointer::New();
cutter->SetCutFunction(&plane);
cutter->SetInputData(polydata);
cutter->Update();

auto cutStripper = vtkSmartPointer<vtkStripper>::New();
cutStripper->SetInputConnection(cutter->GetOutputPort());
cutStripper->Update();

auto cleanPolyData = vtkSmartPointer<vtkCleanPolyData>::New();
cleanPolyData->SetInputData(cutStripper->GetOutput());
cleanPolyData->Update();

vtkSmartPointer<vtkPolyData> contour = cleanPolyData->GetOutput();
return contour;

}

I don’t think there is a polyline resampling filter in VTK. You can take ResamplePoints function from 3D Slicer (it only uses VTK).

You find and append line segments in random order, so polygon winding is random. It would require extra computation to determine winding and reverse the list of point indices, so it is not done in the cutter or stripper. If you don’t find a method in VTK for getting winding of a polygon then do a web search, you’ll find many implementations.

Look at this example FitSplineToCutterOutput from the VTKExamplesProject.