get centroids in python script

Hi I am trying to extract the centroids of an unstructured mesh in a python script. Sorry if it is a noob question, as I am an not an expert with the vtk module. My understanding is that the vtk classes and its public methods are usable in a similar way in python, but I could be wrong.

I have a vtkcell3d object and I’d like to call the function GetCentroids mentioned here : https://vtk.org/doc/nightly/html/classvtkCell3D.html#a98211f0913217de4a8d87f9736d5277a
The problem is that this function takes as input the center itself and can return a bool value, so I don’t get the utility of this function.
Any help on this topic would be greatly appreciated, I tried to look on the internet with no result…
bye

By “centroid” do you mean true physical center of gravity of a solid object represented by a volumetric mesh, center of gravity of mesh points, center of gravity of cell centerpoints, center of oriented bounding box, center of bounding box…? There are very different methods for obtaining them.

in bool vtkCell3D::GetCentroid(double centroid[3]) method centroid is an input argument. Create variable in Python that contains a vector (e.g., np.zeros(3)) and use it as argument in this method call. If the method succeeds then you’ll get a True return value and the variable will hold the centroid position. Note that averaging centroids will not give you the centroid of the mesh, for that you would need to compute sum weighted with the volume of each cell.

Dear Andrew thanks for the quick response!
I try to clarify I a bit. I have an unstructured mesh, composed of solid cells, and for each cell I want to obtain the geometric center. Something along these lines: