How to perform cinematic rendering(photorealistic volume rendering) of medical images using open source?

Hello everyone, I am a beginner to visualization software, and my running hardware is MacOS. I have managed to get some experience with 3D Slicer and carry out some volume rendering; I also downloaded Paraview and Blender.

According to what I have learned so far there are two ways to do cinematic rendering on open source softwares: 1. using BVTKNode add-on on blender 2. Using looking glass VTK module.

Unfortunately, I had no success with any of those so far. As for BVTK I get the following error: “BVTKNode add-on failed to access the VTK library.” I presume this has to do with me having VTK 9.2, while the add-on runs on VTK 9.1. I cannot revert to 9.1 because my Python is not compatible with that version.

Furthermore, I cannot operationalize the VTK looking glass module for I neither have a holographic device nor can I run the codes due to being extremely inexperienced. I found it quite difficult to find a thorough tutorial on how to utilize VTK on MacOS; I finally figured out how to install it via the terminal; however, I am not sure how to run codes on it. Is it via the terminal or somewhere else? I clearly have not ever coded anything in my life so far, so some thorough explanation will really help.

Overall, my goal is to carry out photorealistic volume rendering of DICOM files in any way possible. As detailed above, I have not managed to do that so far; so would like to get some support on this matter.

If anyone has experience with Osirix on MacOS, please let me know if you can do cinematic rendering and how you can do it. I know Siemens Healthineer provide it too, but their Cinematic Anatomy is only compatible with Windows; nevertheless if you know any other paid way of doing this, please also let me know.

Looking forward to your support.

Well, we just implemented a new native method to do that: