How to properly clip and cut multiple actors

Hello everyone,
I am new to vtk and have a question regarding the proper process to clip and cut multiple actors. In case this matters: I am doing this in Python.
Currently I have a set of vtkActors that are stored in a dictionary, along with a vtkClipPolyData object for each actor. All of the clippers are supplied the same plane and updated, and the output is rendered.
This occurs whenever the user rotates the camera far enough, with a new plane depending on the viewing direction of the camera.
What I now want to do is: Everytime this clip is “refreshed” the original actors are cut (with vtkCutter) on the same plane, and the resulting contours on this plane are used to generate a triangulated plane with vtkContourTriangulator and vtkPolyDataMapper.
My problem is that I haven’t yet figured out how to combine all of these contours. Since the objects are partially nested, but not intersecting otherwise, I would want to create a combined plane which shows a cut-through view of all the actors, including the nested ones.
Is there a way to do this?
And is there a smarter way to clip all the actors together, instead of one at a time?
If this is possible, would the resulting output still maintain the properties of the original actors? So, would they keep their colour, for example?

Thanks in advance for any help you can give me with this!

-Marti

As far as I understand, you problem is that each cut faces overlap.

You can solve this at the rendering level, ensuring that the cut plane is just slightly closer to the camera for the embedded actors. This requires almost no change in your code and performance will be the same as now.

If you cut with a single plane then you can use vtkPlaneCutter, which is probably faster. For each polydata, you can turn the embedded polydata (the next nested polydata) inside out and pass it to the cutter.