ICP Transform to SimpleITK images in Python

Hello !

I am new to VTK and I am trying to use VTK ICP algorithm in a rigid way to get a transform to use in SimpleITK then. I do that in Python.
Here is how I proceed:

1. Import nifty file and apply Discrete Marching Cube Algorithm to obtain surfaces to register
  2. Feed source and target surface to vtkIterativeClosestPointTransform() and compute
  3. Apply the transform to surfaces through vtkTransformPolyDataFilter() -> Everything looks great, my surface are aligned in the viewer
  4. Retrieve the icp transform matrix from vtkIterativeClosestPointTransform() and convert it into physical coordinates (at least the translation)
  5. Apply this transform to my itk images through a sitk.Euler3DTransform() -> Images are not aligned at all
    I have also tried with the inverse transform just in case but results are bad too. I have tried to do everything in VTK too but same results.

Here is my code (I skip the part where I read DICOM files in SITK to get fixed_image and moving_image):

def extract_surface_from_nifty(mask, image, option_visu=0):
    source_reader=vtk.vtkNIFTIImageReader()
    source_reader.SetFileName(mask)
    origin=image.GetOrigin()
    spacing=image.GetSpacing()
    source_reader.SetDataSpacing(spacing)
    source_reader.SetDataOrigin(origin)

print("Start Discrete Marching Cube algo")
    source_dmc = vtk.vtkDiscreteMarchingCubes()
    source_dmc.SetInputConnection(source_reader.GetOutputPort())
    source_dmc.SetValue(0, 255)
    source_dmc.Update()
    return source_dmc

def icp_transform(fixed_mask, moving_mask, fixed_image, moving_image):
    target=extract_surface_from_nifty(fixed_mask, fixed_image, option_visu=0)
    source=extract_surface_from_nifty(moving_mask, moving_image, option_visu=0)
    icp = vtk.vtkIterativeClosestPointTransform()
    icp.SetSource(source.GetOutput())
    icp.SetTarget(target.GetOutput())
    icp.GetLandmarkTransform().SetModeToRigidBody()
    icp.DebugOn()