Mesa CPU rendering question

Dear All,
recently I have been running some experiments with CPU rendering of polygonal objects in cloud environment and have received quite a low performance, although CPUs are quite an old ones. On VM with 12 cores those are 5 FPS for 385140 cells and 4.1FPS for 612088 cells . The Mesa 20.3.0 with SWR was used. mpstat shows that all 12 cores are involved in rendering. I am quite new in CPU rendering area and have following questions:

1. Do I understand correctly that CPU rendering parallelisation runs out of box in VTK9.01 vtkOpenGLRenderer ?
  2. Are there any further possibilities to speed up CPU rendering in VTK?

Thank you in advance,
Best regards,
Evgeniya

1 Like

Hello,

Getting 4-5 FPS in software rendering (CPU) for that number of cells is quite good in my opinion. I think 12 cores can’t compare to the thousands of cores of a modern graphics card available for hardware rendering. Such is the difference in performance that no one uses software rendering today for serious applications.

Now, if you do have a reason to use software rendering, you have to impose very restrictive limits on the complexity of the scenes you need to render. Either this or buy way more CPUs from your cloud provider and implement cluster-level parallelization in your program (OpenMP, MPI, etc.). Though, it would be a lot cheaper, a lot easier and a lot more efficient to just use GPUs like everyone does.

regards,

Paulo

Dear Paulo,
thank you very much for your reply.

1. Yes, I have no options but to use CPU, so I have to find a solution to rendering performance within this configuration