Overrall performances on a very simple scene, disappoiting/weird results ...

Hi dear friends,

I’m very new to VTK, and I’m currently testing/stressing it to evaluate its potential for replacing our current OpenGL frontend.

The setup is quite simple :

• Windows 10
  • Latest VTK compiled with VS2022, Release, x64, static Libs
  • VTK wrapped inside a C++CLI DLL
  • C++ CLI DLL used from a x64 C# WinForms application

The scene is coming from a CAD software and represent an House (500 actors, 20k vertices).
Each actor is bound to a PolyData representing a tessellated 3D solid (so only triangles).
The code for actors is :

vtkNew<vtkPolyData> vtkpoly;
vtkNew<vtkPoints> vtkpts;
for (int i=0; i<points->Length/3; i++) vtkpts->InsertNextPoint(points[3*i+0], points[3*i+1], points[3*i+2]);
vtkpoly->SetPoints(vtkpts);

vtkNew<vtkCellArray> vtkfaces;
for (int i=0; i<faces->Length; i++)
{
	for (int j=0; j<faces[i]->Length/3; j++)
	{
		vtkNew<vtkTriangle> triangle;
		for (int k=0; k<3; k++) triangle->GetPointIds()->SetId(k, faces[i][3*j+k]);
		vtkfaces->InsertNextCell(triangle);
	}
}
vtkpoly->SetPolys(vtkfaces);

vtkNew<vtkPolyDataMapper> mapper;
mapper->SetInputDataObject(vtkpoly);
vtkNew<vtkActor> vtkactor;
vtkactor->SetMapper(mapper);

All other parameters for vtkRenderWindow / vtkRenderer are left to defaults.
In the same application I have another OpenGL frontend so that I can make side by side FPS comparisons.

On the exact same scene, my current OpenGL engine gives >60fps (screen limited), VTK gives <20fps.
The difference is especially visible when rotating, were the 1rst engine is way smoother than VTK.

Moreover, when I add any widget or a vtkCornerAnnotation, VTK framerate drop 50% (FPS is near 10-15fps in this case).

I’ve exported the scene in VTP and viewed it inside ParaView, and I did not see any of the above issues.

My questions :

• Am I doing something wrong ?
  • Are there any “secret settings” that could increase the VTK FPS ?

Thanks guys :slight_smile: