Read or split large vtk file for paraview post-processing

Hello community and everyone,

Thank you for the powerful tool VTK for scientific data processing. I use Paraview to display my computational fluid dynamics(CFD) data and it really helps me. Now I encounter a problem for large dataset and I need your help since I am very new to VTK.

My software currently only generates Legacy ASCII vtk files of the computational data. The file size becomes very large when I do a complex computation. Now I have a datafile of around 50GB for post-processing. I prepared 1TB RAM memory on the cluster to avoid any memory overflow for large datasets. When I read the data in Paraview and pressed the “apply” button, it gives the following error in a short time:

terminate called after throwing an instance of ‘std::bad_alloc’
what(): std::bad_alloc
Loguru caught a signal: SIGABRT
Stack trace:

error: exception occurred: Child aborted

which seems to be related to memory allocation problem though I check that there is still 800GB RAM available in my cluster. I have 308075091 POINTS data in my vtk file, which may be too large for the Paraview vtk reader.

Then I learnt that I can split the data file into smaller pieces using python and VTK package. Since I have never used VTK alone, I asked ChatGPT for help and it gave me the split code below:

import vtk

def read_vtk_file(filename):
reader=vtk.vtkDataSetReader()
reader.SetFileName(filename)
reader.Update()
return reader.GetOutput()

def write_vtk_file(data, filename):
writer=vtk.vtkDataSetWriter()
writer.SetFileName(filename)
writer.SetInputData(data)
writer.Write()

def split_vtk_file(input_filename, output_filenames):
data=read_vtk_file(input_filename)
bounds=data.GetBounds()
for i, output_filename in enumerate(output_filenames):
clipper=vtk.vtkClipDataSet()
clipper.SetInputData(data)

box=vtk.vtkBox()
    box.SetBounds(
        bounds[0] if i%2==0 else (bounds[0]+bounds[1])/2,