Slow voxelisation with vtkPolyDataToImageStencil

Hello everybody,
I am currently writing a code for numerical simulation and would like to use VTK for creating voxel geometries from given STL and OBJ files. I am new to the VTK library so I have tried to work with the wide range of examples - in particular by adapting the vtkPolyDataToImageData example but I am running into problems for more complex geometries: They take several minutes to voxelise.
My code starts by importing the corresponding files as described in these two examples (STL and OBJ) and then a code inspired by the vtkPolyDataToImageData example (see below) creates a voxel representation in the form of image data. While it seems to work for simple geometries quite fast (e.g. 15 seconds for this skull) I had trouble with several larger files (e.g. this building which takes several minutes). The code takes quite long for the vtkPolyDataToImageStencil part. Is there a better way to do it or do I simply have to live with it taking so long?

vtkSmartPointer<vtkImageData> VoxelisePolyData(vtkSmartPointer<vtkPolyData>& poly_data, int const resolution_x) {
  // Colour values for voxels
  constexpr unsigned char background_colour {0};
  constexpr unsigned char foreground_colour {1};

// Get geometry bounding box and calculate domain size and resolution
  double bounds[6] = {};
  poly_data->GetBounds(bounds);
  double const domain_size[3] = {bounds[1] - bounds[0], bounds[3] - bounds[2], bounds[5] - bounds[4]};
  int const resolution[3] = {resolution_x, static_cast<int>(domain_size[1]/domain_size[0]*resolution_x), static_cast<int>(domain_size[2]/domain_size[0]*resolution_x)};

// Output information about domain size and resolution
  std::cout << "Domain size (x,y,z): " << domain_size[0] << ", " << domain_size[1] << ", " << domain_size[2] << std::endl;
  std::cout << "Resolution  (x,y,z): " << resolution[0]  << ", " << resolution[1]  << ", " << resolution[2]  << std::endl;