Working with whole slide images in VTK

Hi everyone. I am new to VTK and I’ve been trying to apply it to whole slide images (WSI) in digital pathology. This has presented some interesting challenges and I would be interested to know how some of these challenges should be approached in the context of VTK.

1. Firstly, I needed to be able to read in data from virtual slides obtained from different whole slide scanners. This was done using VTKs microscopy domain in tandem with openslide. This works fine. I can read in small images of these formats and display them no problem.

2. The next issue I’ve encountered is rendering large, high resolution wsi’s for display and interaction. My approach to achieve this is to utilize image pyramids. I first tried to view the whole image using vtkImageResize to drop the resolution. This seemed to work to an extent, but its very slow and the lag is substantial. I’ve looked at other filters such as vtkImageResample but this is also slow. Is there an alternative filter I should be looking at or am I missing something else? To view regions of the image at high resolution I want to generate tiles to only read in the relevant sections of the image. I am thinking of using an array of actors to break up the image into tiles and display only the tiles which are in view of the window. I tried to generate a single tile using vtkImageClip. This works but again it seems slow. Is there another approach I should take to generate tiles?

Thanks.

Hi Jason,

I used to do some large-image rendering in VTK. I had started working on a multi-resolution pyramid approach but unfortunately my work with microscopy ended before I could finish it.

Some pointers:

• The vtkImageResize filter the fastest way to resize an image in VTK, but by default it uses a windowed-sinc interpolator. To increase its speed, you can use its SetInterpolator() method to provide a vtkImageInterpolator (i.e. linear interpolation) rather than the default vtkImageSincInterpolator.